The History of Tolroy Manor
Tolroy Manor has a fascinating history. It was occupied by the Trevithick family during the 1800s. This family along with the Harvey family of Hayle, were world renowned for their work in developing the high pressure boilers and pumping engines which were paramount in the development of industry across the world.
John Harvey Trevithick who lived at the beautiful manor house during the 1800s, came from a famous engineering family. His father Richard Trevithick, whose road locomotive climbed Camborne Hill on Christmas Eve 1801, has been described as “a pioneer of the Industrial Revolution and undoubtedly one of the greatest engineers to have ever lived.”
You will note the wall dividing Tudor Court and Trevithick Court is the last of the old walled garden for the Manor house.
The last member of the Trevithick family to live at Tolroy was in 1941. Tolroy Manor has grown and developed over the years to become a unique site on the hillside above Hayle, looking towards the sea and St. Ives.